It’s been quite a while since I’ve used this space for writing anything. In some ways what I am about to embark upon seems like a departure from the sorts of things I’ve written about previously. I have been thinking a lot about the theology of worship lately and I plan to use this space to work out my own beliefs on what is perhaps the most important thing a Christian can do. I won’t commit to any particular frequency or number of posts on worship, but  I suspect that will become the primary focus of this blog. I welcome any questions or challenges to my thinking and since I plan to work out my faith through writing I doubt that all my writings here will be my final thoughts on worship. I don’t intend to change anyone’s mind with this blog, simply to refine my own thoughts and theology.

A bit of background first, I grew up in churches that sang mostly hymns as well as some choruses (though only a few that could have been considered modern). I learned music from an early age and started playing guitar starting in 8th grade. Very quickly, even as a part of my early guitar training, I was tapped to help lead worship (read: worship in music). My love of modern music (in nearly every style) led to a love of modern worship music. My love of songwriting gave me a deep sense of the importance of lyrical content.

Since college I have attended churches that leaned into the contemporary style of music though not all of them exclusively sang contemporary songs. If I am honest with myself I have been attracted to the rockstar status of some worship leaders, even if they weren’t particularly famous, and desired a similar status for myself. I sense God is leading me away from that, though perhaps not from contemporary style.

Though I firmly believe everything we do for God is an act of worship, my main concern is with corporate worship in music. I am concerned with the content of the words and the aesthetics of the music. I am concerned with the ways in which we present worship music, both to local congregations and to the world at large through the “Christian” music industry. I am concerned with how music is led. I am concerned with the visual elements that invariably accompany Sunday morning services, both through stage design and architecture. I am also concerned with how we may all better live our lives out in worship to our Creator, but this point in particular I do not intend to address.

So please think with me as I consider what God would have for us as worshipers.

