It boils down to this: go do the work you love and damn the financial consequences. It isn’t suggesting that life should always be easy or that you can make loads of money by doing what you enjoy, but rather that we place too high a value on money and live miserable lives as a result.

It’s the reason I started Three Crowns Coffee. I love coffee. I love roasting, making, introducing people to good coffee, the creativity of it, the smell of it, and on and on the list goes. I had a “better” job before I got into the coffee industry. I made more money and had good benefits, but I was miserable. It made my wife miserable.

Now I work in an industry that most people view as something for high schoolers to make a little cash for the weekend. But I am fortunate and blessed to have this job. I am blessed to be able to make money doing what I love. It makes getting up at 5 am worth it. It makes washing dishes and cleaning bathrooms worth it. It make pouring over the finances for endless hours worth it.

It’s a bit of advice that’s popular at graduation ceremonies and in trendy YouTube videos, but few people follow it. We love to excuse it. “When I have enough money, I’ll start my own business,” “I can’t just quit my job, I’ve got bills to pay and mouths to feed.” I’m not advocating irresponsibility, but I firmly believe if we are pursuing our passions the money will follow.

For some it may mean choosing a path less traveled. Skipping college despite the pressures to graduate from the same school the family has gone to for generations. For others it may mean taking a lower paying job and forgoing the financial security afforded elsewhere. I don’t know where your path will take you, but if you follow your passions it will show in the way you work and that won’t go unnoticed.

Go live the dream.

