ImageThis morning I woke up thinking about love. Today is the 4th anniversary of what would have been our wedding date had it not fallen on Easter weekend that year. So I woke up thinking about love. I woke up thinking about how much I love the woman that lies next to me each night. I woke up thinking about how my heart overflows with warm fuzzy feelings for her. 

But I think we’ve been misled. Feelings fade and if I’m really honest there are days that I don’t have the warm fuzzies for my wife. Yet, I don’t stop loving her. There are days when I frustrate her to no end, but she doesn’t stop loving me. Music, movies, and media of all sorts tell us how great love is. But love is hard. They tell us how wonderful it is to fall in love. But sometimes you hit bottom. They tell us that sex = love. But sex without love is empty and we know it. 

Then I thought about how love is a choice. We wake up in the morning and choose to love the one next to us. We run into frustrations, both inside and outside the relationship, and we choose to love. We face hardship and struggle and we choose to love.

My dad told me once that he thought any two people could stay married, but they had to choose to love each other. I think most marriages that fall apart start to die when one or both choose to stop loving the other. Love is a choice. I think marriages come alive when couples choose to love each other. 

Love is more than feelings. Love is more than sex. Love is more than “I love you.”

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.” -St. Paul

Love is a choice.

