Today marks a week since our apartment caught on fire. The fire marshal determined the blaze started in the wall between two basement apartments directly below ours. It was electrical and no one is being cited for starting it.

Within a couple of days the apartment complex had a new apartment for us and we moved our stuff out of storage and into the new place across the parking lot. There is an eerie similarity to our old apartment, same layout, same place in the building. We were blessed to lose as little as we did.

Family, friends, and the community have been overwhelmingly generous and helpful in the wake of the fire. Our cupboards are filled to overflowing. We’ve literally had to turn away some donated items. For us, and I’m sure many of the other families, if you want to donate anything, we could use money. But in all honesty God has provided beyond what we ever could have imagined.

Later in the week we were able to get into the old place and sift through the remains. Quite a bit of our stuff was salvageable, my computer, one of my guitars, most of my pedals, L’s wedding ring, and a necklace that belonged to my grandma. Our bedroom was probably hit the hardest. Thankfully we had taken several loads of laundry to my parents that weekend, but we have a lot of wardrobe rebuilding to do. Amy will have to rebuild her entire apartment.

I’m putting together a benefit concert and already have several great local artists on the bill. Check my Facebook for more details as they develop.

Check out the pictures and the playlist below.

IMG_0453 IMG_0454 IMG_0457 IMG_0458 IMG_0459 IMG_0460 IMG_0461 IMG_0462 IMG_0463 IMG_0464 IMG_0465 IMG_0466 IMG_0469 IMG_0470 IMG_0471 IMG_0472

1. We Didn’t Start the Fire – Billy Joel
2. Light my Fire – The Doors
3. Ring of Fire – Johnny Cash
4. Fire – Jimi Hendrix
5. Through Smoke – NEEDTOBREATHE
6. Fire and Rain – James Taylor
7. Grapevine Fires – Death Cab for Cutie
8. Hide my Treasure – The Lions
9. Shelter – Ray LaMontagne
10. You and I – Wilco with Feist

 

